Posted: Tuesday, 25 March 2014 8:18AM

ABC Launching New "Bachelor" Spin-Off This Summer



iStock/Thinkstock(NEW YORK) -- The Bachelor franchise is branching out. ABC has confirmed it will premiere a new spin-off, titled Bachelor in Paradise, this summer.

The show will bring back former Bachelor and Bachelorette stars and take them to an "isolated romantic paradise," where -- hopefully -- sparks will fly. The six-episode series debuts Aug. 4.

Bachelor in Paradise essentially takes the place of another summer spin-off, Bachelor Pad, which last aired in 2012.

Bachelor in Paradise is just one of several series that are either premiering or returning to ABC this summer. The network's summer schedule begins with the new drama Black Box, revolving around a neurologist who is bipolar, on April 24.

The other new ABC summer programs are The Quest, a fantasy reality show premiering June 19; Rising Star, a singing competition in which audience voting will occur in real time, debuting on June 22; and the drama The Astronaut Wives Club, bowing July 24.

Here's a complete rundown of ABC's summer premiere dates:

  • Thursday, April 24, Black Box
  • Sunday, May 18, The 2014 Billboard Music Awards
  • Monday, May 19, The Bachelorette
  • Wednesday, May 21, Motive
  • Tuesday, May 27, Extreme Weight Loss
  • Saturday, May 31, Bet On Your Baby
  • Monday, June 2, Mistresses
  • Thursday, June 5, Jimmy Kimmel Live!: Game Night (special edition of Live! airing before NBA Finals)
  • Thursday, June 19, The Quest
  • Sunday, June 22, Wipeout and Rising Star
  • Tuesday, June 24, NY Med
  • Thursday, July 17, Rookie Blue
  • Thursday, July 24, The Astronaut Wives Club
  • Monday, Aug. 4, Bachelor in Paradise

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio