This Weekend Set To Be Jam Packed With District Wrestling Action

This weekend is set to be a huge weekend for area high school wrestling. As there will be three district tournaments covered by Alpha Media Sports on Saturday. Those tournaments will feature a plethora of area wrestlers.  All tournaments will be available on our website as well. All the tournaments start with coverage at 11:50 and wrestling action at noon. All tournaments will also be available here on our website.

On “92 Rock (92.1)” Fort Dodge is once again hosting the 3A District Tournament. Dodger Wrestlers will look to put their ticket to State. For the 1st time ever, Alpha Media Sports will have live video coverage of the event as well. The video coverage will be available on the Fort Dodge News-Alpha Media and 92 Rock Facebook Pages. Also it will be on any of the Alpha Media Fort Dodge station Facebook pages and a link to the video will be here on our website. KC Meiners and Mike Szalat will have the call and Mike Fraher will have post match interviews with Fort Dodge wrestlers who advance.

On 105-9 “The Beach” ,  Theresa and Tom Hildreth will have coverage of the 1A District Tournament from Guthrie Center. That tournament will feature wrestlers from South Central Calhoun, East Sac County and Ryan Duckett of St. Edmond. The following wrestlers from those school advanced from last week’s sectionals. Below is the wrestler/school and their sectional finish.

South Central Calhoun Qualifiers for Districts:
113 pounds: Justin Rohlfing – Champion
132 pounds: Jordan Khommanyvong – Runner up
145 pounds: Kevin King – Runner up
152 pounds: Zachary Trott – Runner up
160 pounds: Jaydon Maschke – Runner up
170 pounds: Blake McAlister – Champion
220 pounds: Jayden Soard – Champion
East Sac County Qualifiers for Districts:
160 pounds: Garrett Quirk – Champion
285 pounds: Justin Rupnow – Champion
St Edmond Qualifier for Districts:
120 pounds: Ryan Duckett – Runner up
On “Sunny” 99.7, Carl and Darren Legore will bring you the action from the 1A District Tournament in Sioux Central. The list of wrestlers who will compete in that is below along with their school and sectional finish, it is broke by weight class.
106 Evan Boothroyd  West Hancock 1st

113 Donavan Hanson West Bend Mallard 1st, Kayden Pritchard  Eagle Grove 2nd
120 Kellen Smith West Hancock 1st ,Tyce Ruffridge Pocahontas Area  2nd
126 Dustin Dawson 1st Eagle Grove
132 Brandon Lenz 2nd Pocahontas Area
138 Matt Larson 1st West Hancock
145 Matt Sommerlot 2nd Pocahontas Area
152 Kane Zuehl West Hancock  1st
160 Bryer Subject West Hancock  1st
Ian Kohneon 2nd Manson NW Webster
170 Creyton Grimm West Bend Mallard 1st
Justin Ausborn 2nd West Hancock
182 Alex Welander 1st Pocahontas Area
Kale Zuehl 2nd West Hancock
195 Mathew Francis 1st West Hancock
Brodie Anderson 2nd Manson NW Webster
220 Cole Kelly 1st West Hancock
285 Dane Johnson 1st Pocahontas Area
This weekend promises to be one that will feature some high caliber wrestling and non-stop action.

Connect With Us Listen To Us On