State Wrestling Final Results


The Fort Dodge Dodgers finished 3rd in the team standing in class 3A. Drake Ayala (120) became just the 8th Dodger wrestler in program history to repeat as state champion. Ayala made quick work of his opponent in the finals 2nd ranked Austin Keegley of Cedar Rapids-Prairie as he won via pin fall in 45 seconds.

Carson Taylor (126) and Dreyzon Phillips (138) both took the silver after falling in the finals. Levi Egli  (195) took the bronze, Brandon Mills (145) and Kody Cook (152) both 6th place finishes. Lane Cowell (113) finished 7th and Brooks Cowell (132) 8th. Clarion-Goldfield-Dows Junior Reed Abbas finished 7th at 145 and teammate Tyler Stein finished 8th at 113. Humboldt’s Cole Nelson took 3rd at 106. Webster City’s Cam Phetxoumphone won the state title at 106. Eagle Grove’s Joel Mendoza (220) finished 6th. Dane Johnson of Pocahontas Area took 5th at 285. East Sac County’s Nate Thomsen finished 4th at 132. The South Central Calhoun duo of Blake Mcalister and  Jordan Khommanyvong both brought home medals as Mcalister was 6th at 160 and Khommanyvong was 8th at 138. For West Bend-Mallard Connor Fehr (170) and Donavon Hanson (106) became the 1st medalists in school history as Fehr finished 6th and Hanson finished 8th.

Connect With Us Listen To Us On